Leading energy sector lawyer and innovator Ms Anna Collyer has been announced as the new Chair of the Australian Energy Market Commission.

Ms Collyer has been advising clients in the energy industry for more than 20 years and has overseen significant projects in energy sector reform.

She comes to the AEMC from her position as Partner and Head of Innovation at Allens law firm, where she has also focussed on adapting legal services to meet the challenges associated with technological change and digital disruption.

AEMC Commissioners, Merryn York, Charles Popple, Allison Warburton and Michelle Shepherd, and Chief Executive, Benn Barr, welcomed Ms Collyer to the role, saying the organisation would benefit from her considerable skills, experience and insight.

“We are delighted that Anna will be joining us at this important stage in the energy sector transition. We look forward to working with Anna as the new Chair of the AEMC.”

Ms Collyer has advised governments, market institutions, industry participants and large energy users on a wide range of matters, including industry reform, renewable energy projects, power purchase agreements and privatisations. She has advised on introducing retail competition in electricity and gas in Victoria and worked on developing the national framework for electricity and gas retail and distribution.

She also has a particular interest in diversity, inclusion and people management, and has acted as a role model and advocate for women at work.

“As someone who is focussed on taking a partnership approach to developing solutions, I am very much looking forward to joining the AEMC, which has a strong reputation for deep thinking and effective collaboration,” Ms Collyer said.

“Rapid advances in technology are affecting all aspects of our lives but this is particularly so in energy, where the system’s transformation presents unique opportunities and challenges. It is an important time to be working in the energy sector.”

Ms Collyer will begin her term as Chair of the Commission on 1 Feb 2021.

The role of AEMC Chair is agreed to by the nation’s energy ministers and appointed by the South Australian Governor, on the recommendation of the South Australian Minister responsible for the AEMC Establishment Act.

Media: Kellie Bisset, Media and Content Manager M: 0438 490041 T: (02) 8296 7813