We are pleased to introduce two new senior advisers and an adviser. Kate Degen has joined the AEMC from the NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment. In recognition of their outstanding work; Declan Kelly, one of our first graduates, has now progressed from adviser to senior adviser; and Orrie Johan, from the 2018 graduate intake, is now an adviser.


Kate Degen, Senior Adviser

Kate joins the AEMC from the NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment where she worked in Water and Lands, most recently managing the Strategy and Legislation team developing a community engagement strategy and a 10 year strategic plan for Crown lands. She previously worked at the NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet, the former NSW Department of Energy, Utilities and Sustainability, and for the NSW Minister for Energy and Utilities. Kate has a Bachelor of Social Science from the University of Technology Sydney and a Master of Public Policy from the University of Sydney.



Declan Kelly, Senior Adviser

Since joining the AEMC in March 2016 as a graduate adviser, Declan played a key role in our Transmission connections and planning arrangement rule change, before becoming involved in the Commission’s security work program. Declan is currently project leader for the Wholesale demand response rule change. With a Bachelor of Engineering, majoring in renewable energy, from the University of New South Wales, Declan also completed an internship at Richmond Dairies, a large agricultural facility in northern New South Wales where he focussed on improving energy efficiency.



Orrie Johan, Adviser

Orrie joined the AEMC in February 2018, in the second year of our graduate program. He led the exempt seller rule change and the 2018 last resort planning power review. Currently he is a key contributor to the Coordination of generation and transmission investment review and the Electricity network economic regulatory framework review 2019. Orrie has a Master of Arts in Security Studies from Georgetown University (USA) and worked as a researcher before joining the Commission.