The AEMC is pleased to announce the appointment of Kathy Danaher as a discretionary member on the Reliability Panel until 31 August 2021, representing major energy users. The appointment of Ms Danaher was made following consultation with major energy user associations.

The Panel determines standards and some of the guidelines used by AEMO and participants which help to maintain a secure and reliable power system for consumers.

Ms Danaher is the Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director of Sun Metals. She is responsible for wholesale electricity trading, hedging and transmission procurement for Sun Metals’ zinc refinery, one of the largest single site consumers of electricity in Queensland. Ms Danaher holds a Bachelor of Science with Honours in Marine Biology, Bachelor of Business (Accounting), and is a Certified Practicing Accountant with CPA Australia. 

The Commission welcomes Ms Danaher and we look forward to her participation in the Reliability Panel’s work on reviewing and reporting on the safety, security and reliability of the national electricity system.

The Commission also wishes to thank outgoing Panel member Royce De Sousa, General Manager - Energy & Sustainability, Visy, for his valued contribution to the Reliability Panel over the past three years.

Reliability Panel

The Reliability Panel, which forms part of the AEMC’s institutional arrangements, reviews and reports on the safety, security and reliability of the national electricity system.

The Panel is comprised of members who represent a range of participants in the national electricity market, including consumer groups, generators, network businesses, retailers and the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO).

Deleted content encountered, site owner alerted.