AEMC Chairman John Pierce welcomes the appointment of two new Commissioners to the Australian Energy Market Commission.

The COAG Energy Council today announced that Mr Charles Popple and Ms Allison Warburton would join the AEMC, bringing the total number of Commissioners to four.

“Allison brings extensive experience in advising energy users, market participants and governments to her new role as AEMC Commissioner. Her legal and corporate background, and her particular expertise in renewable energy and emissions reduction will be instrumental in the realisation of the AEMC’s work program,” said AEMC Chairman John Pierce.

“Charles has been an active participant in the energy market reform process since the 1990s. His proficiency in engineering and technical planning and his international experience are particularly relevant to the challenges inherent in the Australian energy market’s transformation.”

Mr Popple’s appointment will commence on 17 February 2018 for a five year term and Ms Warburton’s appointment will commence on 12 March 2018 for a four year term. Retiring Commissioner Neville Henderson’s term will conclude on 16 February 2018.

“On behalf of the current Commissioners, our Chief Executive Anne Pearson and the AEMC’s staff, I’d like to congratulate Charles and Allison on their appointments and welcome them to the Commission.”

“The complementary experience and expertise of our two new Commissioners will capably equip the Commission to continue to fulfil our vision of flexible and resilient markets that benefit consumers.”

Allison Warburton


Allison has worked in the energy sector for more than twenty years, advising energy users, governments and major corporations on energy policy and legislation. As national head of Minter Ellison’s climate change and renewables practice, she has been involved in emissions reduction and clean energy projects, and advised on the Renewable Energy Target, the Emissions Reduction Fund and other legislative schemes to report and reduce emissions.

In 2016 she was appointed by the Queensland Government to its independent Renewable Energy Expert Panel to advise on credible pathways to achieving the government’s renewable energy target. She served as a non-executive director of Stanwell Corporation Limited until January 2018 and advised the Australian Greenhouse Office on developing new laws to regulate geological carbon capture and storage.

Allison has a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Queensland and is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, the Queensland Law Society and the Law Council of Australia’s Climate Change committee.

Charles Popple


Charles Popple has spent more than four decades in the energy network sector. He has been an active participant in the In the 1990s he played a significant role in the development of the National Electricity Market including reform of the network sector and the implementation of transmission system planning and pricing arrangements.

He has also held management roles with Victorian Power Exchange, VENCorp, SPI PowerNet and SP AusNet. As a consultant, his focus was on energy markets and regulatory arrangements, with a view to achieving a balance between security, environmental challenges, and competitive pricing and products for energy consumers.

Charles has a Bachelor of Engineering from Monash University and a Master of Engineering Science in power system engineering from the University of Melbourne.

Media: Communication Director, Prudence Anderson 0404 821 935 or (02) 8296 7817

7 February 2018