The AEMC is seeking nominations from generation businesses, distribution network service providers and market customers to join the Reliability Panel for the next three years.  

The Reliability Panel reviews and reports on the safety, security and reliability of the national electricity system and also sets a number of technical standards and guidelines. 

The Panel is comprised of members who represent a range of participants in the national electricity market, including consumer groups, generators, network businesses, new technology, retailers and the Australian Energy Market Operator. It is chaired by AEMC Commissioner Charles Popple.

The current member for distribution businesses is Mr Trevor Armstrong from Ausgrid. The current member for market customers is Mr Richard Wrightson from AGL. Both of their terms expire on 31 December 2019. The previous member for generators was Mr Mark Collette from EnergyAustralia. Mr Collette has recently resigned from his role on the Panel, effectively immediately. The AEMC is therefore seeking to appoint a new generator representative as soon as possible. 

More information about the appointment process is provided in this explanatory note. To nominate a representative for appointment to the Panel, please use the appropriate nomination form for DNSPs, market customers or generators

Please respond with your completed nomination forms to by 26 September 2019. If you wish to update your organisation’s contact details for the Reliability Panel nominations, please also send through the details to this email address. 

We note that there has been a change in approach compared to previous occasions the AEMC has sought nominations for Panel representatives - the AEMC will no longer be contacting participants individually to seek nominations. Instead, this news announcement is the formal request for nominations. 

For each nomination, we are seeking one response on behalf of each organisation registered as a participant in the national electricity market within the relevant class. 

The Commission will contact registered DNSPs, market customers and generators separately in October to seek approval for the nominations made during the current stage of the appointment process. We will also publish notice of this in our newsletter and on the AEMC website. 

For more information contact Victoria Mollard, Director – Security and Reliability (02) 8296 7872 or

Media: Bronwyn Rosser, Communications Specialist, 0423 280 341;