The Panel is comprised of members who represent a range of participants in the national electricity market, including consumer groups, generators, network businesses, retailers and the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO).

Panel members are selected on the basis of their direct interests in the reliability of electricity supply. Consideration is also given to balancing Panel membership representation according to geographical location and participating jurisdictions.

The AEMC appoints members to the Panel for a period of up to three years. Members are appointed in consultation with industry, end use consumers and consumer groups.

Members who are appointed to represent ‘Registered Participants’ must be agreed to by at least one third of the category of Registered Participant they represent (for example, generator, market customer, network service provider).

The National Electricity Rules require that the Panel is comprised of the following membership:

  • An AEMC Commissioner (appointed for three years);
  • The Chief Executive Officer or delegate of AEMO;
  • Four members that represent Registered Participants including:
    • Generators;
    • Market Customers;
    • Transmission Network Service Providers (TNSP);
    • Distribution Network Service Providers (DNSP);
  • A person representing the interests of end use customers for electricity.

The AEMC has some discretion to appoint up to three members who may have expertise in areas that are not otherwise represented by other Panel members.

Current panel members

Mr Charles Popple (Chair)


Organisation: Chair and AEMC Commissioner

Market segment: AEMC

Mr Popple, Commissioner at the AEMC, has spent more than four decades in the energy network sector. In the 1990s he played a significant role in the development of the National Electricity Market including reform of the network sector and the implementation of transmission system planning and pricing arrangements. He has also held management roles with Victorian Power Exchange, VENCorp, SPI PowerNet and SP AusNet. As a consultant, his focus was on energy markets and regulatory arrangements, with a view to achieving a balance between security, environmental challenges, and competitive pricing and products for energy consumers. Charles has a Bachelor of Engineering from Monash University and a Master of Engineering Science in power system engineering from the University of Melbourne.

Term expiry: 16 Feb 2023

Stephen Clark

Organisation: Technical and Economic Lead – Project Marinus, TasNetworks

Market segment: Transmission Network Service Providers

Mr Clark, Technical and Economic Lead – Project Marinus at TasNetworks, is the transmission network service provider representative on the Panel. Mr Clark is responsible for assessing the economic benefits of further interconnection between Tasmania and Victoria, as well as exploring the system performance issues associated with large amounts of inverter connected generation feeding an isolated power system.

Term expiry: 17 Dec 2021

Kathy Danaher

Organisation: Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director, Sun Metals

Market segment: Discretionary

Ms Danaher, Vice Chairwoman Ark Energy Corporation and Director of Sun Metals, is a discretionary member of the Panel. She is responsible for wholesale electricity trading, hedging and transmission procurement for Sun Metals’ zinc refinery, one of the largest single site consumers of electricity in Queensland.  Ms Danaher holds a Bachelor of Science with Honours in Marine Biology, Bachelor of Business (Accounting), and is a Certified Practicing Accountant with CPA Australia.

Term expiry: 31 Aug 2021

Craig Memery

Organisation: Project team leader – Energy + Water Consumer’s Advocacy Program, PIAC

Market segment: End use customer of electricity

Craig Memery has represented energy users for the last decade, and now leads the PIAC’s Energy and Water Consumer Advocacy Program. The program promotes access to affordable, sustainable energy and water for NSW households, through improvements in policy, regulation and markets that benefit all energy users and targeted supporting measures for people facing hardship and disadvantage. Mr Memery is also a board member of the Energy & Water Ombudsman NSW and Chair of the Australian Energy Regulator’s Consumer Reference Group.

Term expiry: 30 Jun 2023

Keith Robertson

Organisation: General Manager Regulatory Policy, Origin Energy

Market segment: Market customers

Keith Robertson is the General Manager Regulatory Policy at Origin Energy. Mr Robertson is responsible for advocating for effective wholesale, retail and environmental market regulations at Origin Energy. He has over 20 years of experience in the energy sector and has held senior positions in strategy and development, energy trading and sales and marketing.

Term expiry: 31 Dec 2022

Ken Harper

Organisation: Group Manager Operational Support, AEMO

Market segment: AEMO

Ken Harper is Group Manager - Operational Support at AEMO, responsible for operational forecasting, planning power system operations up to seven days ahead, congestion and grid modelling, and training of gas and electricity operators. He has more than 25 years’ experience in developing, analysing and operating energy trading operations, having worked at Marsden Jacob Associates, Alinta Energy, Delta Electricity, Snowy Hydro, Red Energy and EnergyAustralia.

Term expiry: N/A

Ken Woolley

Organisation: Executive Director Merchant Energy, Alinta Energy

Market segment: Generators

Ken Woolley is the Executive Director Merchant Energy at Alinta Energy and a Director of Latrobe Valley Power. Mr Woolley is responsible for power generation asset management and operations, wholesale gas, electricity and renewable trading functions and power development at Alinta Energy. He has more than two decades of experience in the energy sector, including roles as Executive Director Power Generation at Alinta Energy and General Manager Power Development at AGL Energy. Mr Woolley holds a Bachelor of Engineering from Monash University and is a Fellow of the Institute of Engineers.

Term expiry: 30 May 2023

John Titchen

Organisation: Managing Director, Goldwind Australia

Market segment: Discretionary

Mr Titchen, Managing Director of Goldwind Australia, is a discretionary member of the Panel. Since establishment in 2009 Mr Titchen has led the development of Goldwind Australia’s portfolio of wind and solar generation. Mr Titchen has previously worked for the Electricity Commission of NSW, Pacific Power and Hydro Tasmania.

Term expiry: 17 Dec 2021

David Salisbury

Organisation: Executive Manager, Engineering, Essential Energy

Market segment: Distribution Network Service Providers

Incoming Panel member David Salisbury is Executive Manager Engineering at Essential Energy. He is an experienced executive and an accomplished engineering with expertise in gas distribution, and electricity and gas transmission across the UK and electricity distribution in Australia. Mr Salisbury has a strong technical background with in-depth commercial and regulatory experience and first-hand knowledge of using technology to enable transformation. Mr Salisbury previously held the position of Head of Network Engineering and Asset Management for Gas Transmission at National Grid in the United Kingdom prior to relocating to Australia in 2017.

Term expiry: 31 December 2023