Market Legislation

The AEMC was established in 2005 under the Australian Energy Market Commission Establishment Act 2004 (South Australia). We are a COAG entity established by the South Australian parliament.

The AEMC has rule making and market development functions under the national energy laws – the National Electricity Law, the National Gas Law and the National Energy Retail Law. We are required to follow a rule amendment procedure that includes public consultation and publication of relevant documents.


The current National Electricity Law and the National Electricity Rules came into effect on 1 July 2005.


The National Gas Law and the National Gas Rules came into effect on 1 July 2008 in all jurisdictions except Western Australia. On 1 January 2010, Western Australia became a participating jurisdiction in the National Gas Law (to the extent set out in the National Gas Access (WA) Act 2009).


The National Energy Retail Law and National Energy Retail Rules came into effect on  1 July 2012. The extent to which this law applies in each state and territory depends on the application of legislation passed by each jurisdiction. The National Energy Customer Framework has been adopted in Queensland, the Australian Capital Territory, Tasmania, South Australia and New South Wales.