





26 March 2020

The Hon Angus Taylor MP Chair – COAG Energy Council Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction

By email: angus.taylor@energy.gov.au

Dear Minister,

## Implementation timeframes for rule changes

At the COAG Energy Council on 20 March 2020 the Energy Council discussed the need for a coordinated national approach to managing the impacts of COVID-19 in the energy sector and agreed that governments and industry need to work together to respond effectively to these unprecedented challenges.

The market bodies are aware of the additional pressures being placed on the energy sector as the nation responds to COVID-19. Industry has suggested there be consideration of the timeframes for implementation of market reforms to ease this pressure. Ahead of the National Coordination Mechanism meeting scheduled for Friday the market bodies wanted to bring to your attention how it is we are collaborating to address this concern.

Our primary focus is enabling and supporting industry stakeholders to deliver ongoing energy security and reliability, and adequate consumer protections, as Australia deals with the pandemic. In this context, the market bodies are currently developing an agreed set of objectives and criteria for considering altering the implementation dates for rules changes including:

- for those rules that have been made but are not yet operational;
- for rule changes currently on foot, which are not yet commenced; and
- rule changes expected to be received by the AEMC in the coming months.

Mapping of these implementation issues will also consider additional regulatory requirements arising in 2020 as well as implications of the wider ESB related market reforms and the market bodies will work closely with the ESB on this.

We expect to have this work done in the next one to two weeks. This work will also provide a consistent input for how each market body prioritises the timing for the work each has underway to allow industry to focus on sustaining energy security and reliability in 2020, including addressing the 6 key focus areas identified for immediate attention by the Energy Coordination Mechanism.

Should you require further information please contact us.

Yours sincerely,

John Pierce AO Chair Australian Energy Market Commission

**Audrey Zibelman** MD and CEO Australian Energy Market Operator

**Clare Savage** Chair Australian Energy Regulator

Cc: COAG Energy Council Members COAG Energy Council SCO Representatives Dr Kerry Schott AO, Chair, Energy Security Board