National Gas Rules

The National Gas Objective is to promote efficient investment in, and efficient operation and use of, natural gas services for the long-term interests of consumers of natural gas with respect to price, quality, safety, reliability and security of supply of natural gas.

The National Gas Rules govern access to natural gas pipeline services and elements of broader natural gas markets. The Rules are made under the National Gas Law and have the force of law. They are amended from time to time by the AEMC or, in special and limited circumstances, by the South Australian Minister for Mineral Resources & Energy  who is the Minister responsible for the AEMC to the Council of Australian Governments. Participating jurisdictions under the National Gas Law are South Australia, the Commonwealth, New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Tasmania, the Australian Capital Territory, Northern Territory, and Western Australia on a modified basis.

Copies of the National Gas Rules are available for inspection at the AEMC's office in Sydney. The National Gas Law can be found at the South Australian Legislation website.

In this section you can search both the current rules and historical versions.

You can also find out about how the National Gas Rules apply on a modified basis in in Western Australia.