National Electricity Rules

The National Electricity Objective is to promote efficient investment in, and efficient operation and use of, electricity services for the long-term interests of consumers of electricity with respect to price, quality, safety, reliability, and security of supply of electricity; and the reliability, safety and security of the national electricity system.

National Electricity Rules exist so that market participants understand their rights and responsibilities, and there is appropriate regulation so that consumers do not pay more than necessary for their electricity.

The Rules are made under the National Electricity Law and have the force of law. They are amended by the AEMC or, in special and limited circumstances, by the South Australian Minister for Mineral Resources & Energy who is the Minister responsible for the AEMC to the Council of Australian Governments.

The electricity rules apply in the National Electricity Market which comprises New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, Queensland, South Australia, Victoria and Tasmania.

Copies of the Rules are available for inspection at the AEMC's office in Sydney and the governing laws can be found at the South Australian Legislation website.

In this section you can search the current rules and historical versions.